Madrid, 1950
Technology Section
Speciality: Microelectronics
Ingress date: 2006.26.01


Education: B.Sc. in Physics, 1972 (UCM), Ph.D. in Physics, 1977 (UCM); Diplôme d’Études Approfondies at the U. Paul Sabatier (Toulouse, 1974). Appointments: Visiting researcher, ENSAE and the LAAS-CNRS, Toulouse (1973-1975). Visiting researcher, LETI, Grenoble (1975-1979). Scientific Collaborator, Torres Quevedo, CSIC (1975-1985). Research Scientist, CNM-CSIC (1985–1989). Office charges at the CNM: Director of Silicon Dept. (1985 -1993), Director of Silicon and Microsystems Tech. Dept. (1995-1996), Deputy Scientific Director (1985-1995), Deputy Director (1995-1996). Tech. Director of "Design & Microelectronics Tech., A.I.E." (1995-1996). Prof. of Electronics at the UAB (1989). CSIC Vicepresident for Science & Technology (1996-2002). CSIC President (2003-2004). President of the Prestige Scientific Ad. Committee (2002-2003). Visiting professor at UC Berkeley (USA). Director of the IMB-CNM and of the associated “Integrated Micro and Nanofabrication Clean Room”. Coordinator of the Barcelona Nanocluster at Bellaterra (BCN-b). CSIC President since January 2012. Main fields of research and artistic creation: Microelectronics and Nanotechnologies covering aspects of Physics and technology of semiconductors and microchips, simulation and design of silicon microdevices and chips, Micro and Nanosystems (MEMS & NEMS), nanofabrication and CNTs. Publications: Author of more than 100 research articles in peer reviewed scientific journals, and more than 150 communications at scientific meetings. Coauthor of 7 patents and has written 12 books on his subject. He has been the coordinator or participated coordinated/participated in more than 50 national or international research projects. Awards and honors: Full member of the Real Academia de Ciencias y Artes de Barcelona and corresponding member of the Real Academia de Medicina y Cirugía de Cádiz and of the Real Academia de San Dionisio de Artes y Ciencias de Jerez de la Frontera. Awarded with the Encomienda de número de la Orden del Mérito Civil and several CSIC awards.

Powered by Joomla! ©