Tarragona, 1942
Geology Section (4th)
Speciality: Organic Geochemistry
Ingress date: 2000.14.12
Medal: 40


Education: B.Sc., 1964 (University of Barcelona); Ph.D., 1968 (University of Barcelona); Master on Petroleum Chemistry and Technology (Institute of Petroleum, Bucharest, 1968-69). Appointments: Research associate (Spanish Research Council, CSIC, 1979). Head of the Department of Environmental Chemistry (CSIC, 1979-84). Research Professor (CSIC, 1984). Director of the CID-CSIC (1985-91). Delegate of the CSIC for Catalonia (1991-93). General Director of Research and High Commissioner for Universities and Research (Catalan Government, 1993-95 and 1995-99, respectively). Founding member and Vicepresident of the Chromatgraphy Grup of the Royal Spanish Chemical Society (1972-80). Vicepresident of the International Association of Environmental Analytical Chemistry (2002-present). President of the UNESCO Center (1987-96, Barcelona). Main fields of research: Organic geochemistry, environmental organic chemistry, pollution monitoring, marine pollution. Publications: More than 250 peer-reviewed articles and supervisor of 22 Ph.D. theses. Awards and honors: Osborne Award for the environmental conservation (1973, Osborne Fundation), Hewlett- Packard Award on Mass Spectrometry (1986), Narcis Monturiol Medal to the Scientific Merit (1989, Generalitat de Catalunya), Jubilee Medal (1990, Chromatographic Society, UK), Elected member of the European Academy of Sciences (1992). Honor Award (2000, Universitat Pompeu Fabra), Gold Medal (2001, Universitat de Vic), Research Award on the fight against marine pollution (2007, Spanish Ministry of the Presidence), Honor Medal (2011, Sociedad Española de Cromatografía y Técnicas Afines), Honor Award (2011, Sociedad Española de Espectrometría de Masas).

Powered by Joomla! ©